Visual Management

Visual Management - Visualization as a tool for better processes

 

We humans are in contact with visualizations every day. Whether it's advertising on billboards, traffic lights in the street or display boards at the train station - visualizations are part of everyday life and are perceived partly more, partly less consciously.

However, they all have one thing in common: they convey information in the simplest, most easily understandable way possible. After all, the human brain can process images more intensively than words.

And it is precisely this ability that can actually be used in companies, can't it? Visual Management" deals with exactly this question and includes different approaches to the simple and understandable visual presentation of information.

What does Visual Management mean?

 

By definition, visual management is the use of visual aids to manage production processes and develop an understanding of what employees are doing.

With the help of visual management, both managers and employees can directly gain an overview of all important processes in the company.

According to Lean Management, a company should be as "lean" and organized as possible. The approaches of visual management are geared towards this.

What can be achieved with visual management?

The main task of visual management is to provide important information for all employees in the company. This can be visualizations from the areas of management, production or process control.

One of the main goals is to show possible deviations and problems and to make them immediately visible to the employees. In visual management, various methods are available for this purpose, which also pursue quite diverse objectives.

For example, the individual techniques may focus on the following:

- Information for employees

- Display of problems or deviations from the actual status

- Promotion of identification with the company

- Motivation of the employees

Visual Management Methods

Visual Management uses - as already mentioned - quite different methods, which are also used in Lean Management.
The best known are the 5S method, the Visual Management Board and KanBan. In addition, other methods are used.

5S method

The 5S method pursues the goal of keeping the workplace and environment clean and orderly. This is to ensure that the work process is as undisturbed as possible.

5S stands for

S(sorting out the unnecessary and selecting)
Systematize (arrange tasks as well as tools and create space)
Scleaning (cleaning of workplace and equipment, disposal of waste)
Sstandardisation (definition of standards, regular repetition of certain steps)
Sself-discipline (maintaining and optimizing order and organization)

and originates from Japan. Here at Toyota, the 5S method plays a key role in the production process. As part of Lean Management, 5S is only a fraction of the methods used at Toyota. Here you can find more Information on Lean Management.

Visual Management Board

On a visual management or KanBan board, all information about a project can be found at a glance. By means of subdivisions (e.g. "currently being processed", "completed"), priorities can be displayed effortlessly with the help of colors or other signs. Thus, such a board facilitates the work of every team member.

The biggest advantage of a visual board is to save time and to show information in an easily understandable way, e.g. which team member is responsible for which tasks and where necessary information can be found. The board also helps to identify possible bottlenecks, eliminate them and thus optimize the work process.

KanBan

KanBan" is also a method developed in Japan. The term means something like card. The Kanban method was developed in 1947 by Taiichi Ohno, the inventor of Toyota's production system. It is used to organize multi-stage production processes that are linked to each other like control loops. Each individual control loop consists of a production stage and an upstream material store. For each production process, the necessary material is then taken from the associated warehouse. The upstream manufacturing stage independently replenishes any missing material.

This procedure is followed for each operation.

This is a just-in-time principle in which inventories can always be reduced to the required quantity. The material flow moves from the starting material to the end product. In the counterflow, information flows in the form of Kan Ban, which documents and reports back the material withdrawal and production. The result is a self-organizing system that minimizes warehousing, contributes to faster throughput times, optimizes production capacities and thus helps to reduce waste. As a result, the added value at each individual production stage can be controlled in a cost-optimized manner.

Visualization with Kanban cards

Kanban cards can be used to visualize the flow of work. The classic model works with columns that - ordered from left to right - show the respective status:

- left column - To Do: list of tasks still to be processed
- middle column - In Progress: listing of started tasks
- right column - Done: List of completed tasks

The Kanban method is very flexible. Individual columns can be specifically adapted to the individual requirements of a project.

Rules and principles of Kanban

Kanban follows six principles. These should be observed in order to be able to fully exploit the advantages of the method:

Clear rules:
All rules governing the process must be transparent and thus understood and implemented by all persons involved in the project.

Task Limit:
There must be a limit to the number of cards available, coordination on the number of tasks is required.

Workflow:
A continuous workflow must be ensured. This means that tasks must always be in progress.

Continuous improvement process:
To improve efficient operation, Kanban processes must be analyzed regularly.

Leadership:
All employees involved in the project are responsible at all levels for maintaining the workflow and actively improving work processes.

Models:
A better understanding of processes as well as more efficient solutions can be achieved by using models.

Further methods of visual management

In addition to the methods already mentioned, the following approaches can also be considered:

- andon
- A3 reports
- Ishikawa diagram

Andon

The term "andon" also comes from Japanese and means something like "(paper) lamp". The origin of this method lies in a visual signal that was used in the Toyota production system in the form of a signal lamp on machines to indicate irregularities and interruptions in the production process.

In visual management, a self-explanatory method was developed from this, which uses colour (green, yellow, red) and sometimes also sounds to draw attention to problems in production.

In this context the development of Andon-Cords and Andon-Boards takes place:

Andon-Cords
Andon cords are a type of rip cord (e.g. a button) for stopping a machine by the operator. This can be compared to an emergency stop button on ski lifts. When this cord is pulled, a signal is triggered and an employee rushes over to assist and fix the problem.

Andon Boards
An andon board is an illuminated display that provides information on the status of a fault. It can be triggered manually or automatically. Afterwards a visual signal appears, which shows the status of the production system. Subsequently, a predefined process chain is triggered.

A3 reports

The A3 method is a document template in the form of a form. It is used to identify and find solutions to problems in quality management. It contains texts as well as diagrams and other graphical representations. This is intended to enable a better understanding of interrelationships.

With this method, the people working on a project learn to identify problems themselves, to analyse them and to find a solution.

In doing so, the A3 report ensures transparency of the thought process for problem solving.

The A3 report provides the following analysis steps:

Background:
Formulation of the problem as well as its effects in connection with the achievement of the company's goal for all employees involved in the process in order to make the problem comprehensible as well as the reason for the intended problem solution.

Current Situation:
Description of the current state with detailed facts (e.g. in the form of easy-to-understand graphic elements) to illustrate the problem (including place of origin, hurdles, elimination).

Target State:
The target state must be clearly defined as the goal. This facilitates the implementation of a wide variety of measures to remedy problems, and effective solutions can be brought about.

Root Cause Analysis:
By means of certain diagrams, the causes of a problem as well as the resulting actual state can be shown. All interrelationships are clearly presented. In this way, all those involved can also understand them and work out correspondingly effective measures to remedy the problems. The aim of the root cause analysis is to identify direct factors influencing the problem and to eliminate the core causes.

Countermeasures:
Measures are specified and justified which are intended to eliminate the causes of the problem and improve the current situation in the long term. The five W-questions should enable a clear and unambiguous presentation.

Impact on Success:
In this step, the success of the various measures and their contribution to achieving the goal is determined. Quantification on the basis of key figures proves to be useful; the change is presented in a comprehensible way by means of a before-and-after comparison.

Standardization and follow-up:
The final step is an evaluation of the overall process. Measures are defined to standardize and ensure the improvements achieved and to drive them forward. With the help of knowledge management, ways are also defined that make all experiences and findings transferable to other processes and working methods.

Ishikawa diagram

The Ishikawa diagram (fishbone diagram, cause-effect diagram) graphically represents the relationship between cause and the effect (positive or negative) based on it. The diagram pursues the goal of identifying all causes and depicting possible interdependencies between them.

The Ishikawa method was developed in the context of quality management to analyse the causes of quality defects. In the meantime, the method can be transferred to various fields of application.

The diagram is created in five consecutive steps:

1. drawing the diagram and entering the main influencing variables

2. elaboration of primary and secondary causes

3. check for completeness

4. cause evaluation

5. checking for correctness and deriving measures

What are the advantages of Visual Management?

Compared to speech signals (written and spoken), visual signals offer the following advantages in communication with people:

- Direct integration into the design of affected objects
- fast acquisition becomes possible
- Signals can be understood intuitively
- no knowledge of a locally valid language required
- even illiterate people understand the signals

Visual management can and should be used in every company to present information simply and transparently. Because the phrase, "Out of sight, out of mind." Is in the nature of man. Thus, Visual Management can help to keep track of all tasks and thus become much more efficient and effective.

Limits of visual management

Despite the advantages, visual signals also have certain limitations:

- no complex statements possible
- Receivers sometimes ignore too many visual signals
- visual signals must comply with standards so that everyone understands them

 

Conclusion on Visual Management

Visual management can optimally support communication between all participants in a project. It is suitable for a quick overview of all (also time-critical) processes and helps to exchange information in a simple way.

Visual management can be applied to a wide variety of work areas. Good visualization helps to ensure that potential problems and errors are detected without delay and corrected immediately.

We are happy to support you in the introduction of visual management as well as the application of lean methods to optimize your processes.

en_ZAEnglish (South Africa)
This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.

Visual Management – Visualisierungen als Instrumente für bessere Prozesse

Die Menschheit ist täglich mit Visualisierungen in Kontakt. Ganz gleich ob Werbung auf Plakaten, die Ampel im Straßenverkehr oder Anzeigetafeln am Bahnhof – Visualisierungen gehören zum Alltag und werden teils mehr, teils weniger bewusst wahrgenommen.

Eines haben jedoch alle gemeinsam: sie vermitteln Informationen auf eine möglichst einfache, leicht verständliche Weise. Schließlich kann das menschliche Gehirn Bilder intensiver als Worte verarbeiten.

Und genau diese Fähigkeit lässt sich doch eigentlich auch in Unternehmen nutzen, oder nicht? Das „Visual Management“ beschäftigt sich mit genau dieser Frage und beinhaltet unterschiedliche Ansätze zur einfachen und verständlichen visuellen Darstellung von Informationen.

Dennis Lenhard
Dennis LenhardAutor

Was bedeutet Visual Management?

Per Definition handelt es sich bei visuellem Management um die Nutzung von optischen Hilfsmitteln, um Produktionsabläufe zu steuern und ein Verständnis für die Tätigkeiten der Mitarbeiter zu entwickeln.

Mit Hilfe von visuellem Management können sich sowohl Führungskräfte als auch Mitarbeiter direkt einen Überblick über alle wichtigen Prozesse im Unternehmen verschaffen.

Gemäß Lean Management sollte ein Unternehmen möglichst „schlank“ und organisiert aufgebaut sein. Die Ansätze des visuellen Managements sind darauf ausgerichtet.

Was lässt sich mit visuellem Management erreichen?

Hauptaufgabe des visuellen Managements ist die Bereitstellung wichtiger Informationen für alle Mitarbeiter im Unternehmen. Dabei kann es sich um Visualisierungen aus den Bereichen Geschäftsführung, Produktion oder Prozesssteuerung handeln.

Eines der Hauptziele dabei ist es, mögliche Abweichungen und Probleme aufzuzeigen und zudem umgehend den Mitarbeitern sichtbar machen zu können. Im visuellen Management stehen dafür verschiedene Methoden zur Auswahl, welche ebenfalls recht vielfältige Zielsetzungen verfolgen.

So können die einzelnen Techniken unter anderem folgende Schwerpunkte haben:

• Information der Mitarbeiter

• Anzeige von Problemen oder Abweichungen vom Ist-Zustand

• Förderung der Identifikation mit dem Unternehmen

• Motivation der Mitarbeiter

Visual Management Methoden

Das Visual Management bedient sich – wie bereits erwähnt – recht unterschiedlicher Methoden, die auch im Lean Management zum Einsatz kommen.
Die bekanntesten sind die Methode der 5S, das Visual Management Board und KanBan. Zudem kommen noch andere Methoden zur Anwendung.

5S Methode

Die Methode der 5S verfolgt das Ziel, Arbeitsplatz und -umfeld sauber und geordnet zu halten. Damit soll ein möglichst ungestörter Arbeitsprozess gewährleistet werden.

5S steht dabei für

Sortieren (Aussortieren von Unnötigem und Selektieren)
Systematisieren (Aufgaben sowie Werkzeuge anordnen und Platz schaffen)
Säubern (Reinigung von Arbeitsplatz und -mitteln, Entsorgung von Müll)
Standardisieren (Definieren von Standards, regelmäßige Wiederholung bestimmter Schritte)
Selbstdisziplin (Erhalten und Optimieren von Ordnung und Organisation)

und stammt ursprünglich aus Japan. Hier stellt die 5S-Methode bei Toyota eine tragende Rolle im Produktionsprozess dar. Als Teil von Lean Management ist 5S nur ein Bruchteil von den Methoden, die bei Toyota angewendet werden. Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zu Lean Management.

Visual Management Board

Auf einem Visual Management oder KanBan Board finden sich alle Informationen zu einem Projekt auf einen Blick. Durch Unterteilungen (z. B. in „aktuell in Bearbeitung“, „erledigt“) lassen sich Prioritäten mit Hilfe von Farben oder anderen Zeichen mühelos darstellen. Damit erleichtert ein solches Board jedem Teammitglied die Arbeit.

Der größte Vorteil eines visuellen Boards ist es Zeit zu sparen und Informationen leicht verständlich aufzuzeigen, z.B. welches Teammitglied welche Aufgaben übernimmt und wo notwendige Informationen zu finden sind. Das Board hilft zudem dabei, mögliche Engpässe zu erkennen, diese zu beseitigen und so den Arbeitsprozess zu optimieren.

KanBan

Bei „KanBan“ handelt es sich ebenfalls um eine in Japan entwickelte Methode. Der Begriff bedeutet so viel wie Karte. Entwickelt wurde die Kanban-Methode 1947 von Taiichi Ohno, dem Erfinder des Produktionssystems von Toyota. Sie dient der Organisation mehrstufiger Produktionsprozesse, die wie Regelkreise miteinander verknüpft sind. Dabei besteht jeder einzelne Regelkreis aus einer Fertigungsstufe sowie einem vorgelagerten Materiallager. Es wird dann für jeden Fertigungsprozess das notwendige Material aus dem zugehörigen Lager entnommen. Die vorgelagerte Fertigungsstufe füllt fehlendes Material selbständig wieder auf.

Diese Vorgehensweise erfolgt bei jedem Arbeitsgang.

Es handelt sich dabei um ein Just-in-Time-Prinzip, bei dem Bestände immer auf die benötigte Menge reduziert werden können. Der Materialfluss bewegt sich vom Ausgangsmaterial zum Endprodukt. Im Gegenstrom fließen in Form von Kan Ban Informationen, welche die Materialentnahme und –fertigung dokumentieren und zurückmelden. Es entsteht ein selbst organisierendes System, welches eine Minimierung der Lagerhaltung ermöglicht, zu schnelleren Durchlaufzeiten beiträgt, Fertigungskapazitäten optimiert und so zu einer Verringerung von Verschwendung beiträgt. Dadurch lässt sich die Wertschöpfung auf jeder einzelnen Fertigungsstufe kostenoptimal steuern.

Visualisierung mit Kanban-Karten

Mit Kanban-Karten lässt sich der Arbeitsfluss visualisieren. Das klassische Modell arbeitet mit Spalten, die – von links nach rechts geordnet – den jeweiligen Status anzeigen:

• linke Spalte – To Do: Auflistung von noch zu bearbeitenden Aufgaben
• mittlere Spalte – In Progress: Auflistung von begonnen Aufgaben
• rechte Spalte – Done: Auflistung erledigter Aufgaben

Dabei ist die Kanban-Methode sehr flexibel. Einzelne Spalten lassen sich gezielt auf die individuellen Anforderungen eines Projekts anpassen.

Regeln und Prinzipien des Kanban

Kanban folgt sechs Prinzipien. Diese sollten beachtet werden, um die Vorteile der Methode auch komplett ausschöpfen zu können:

Klare Regeln:
Sämtliche für den Prozess geltende Regeln müssen transparent sein und somit von allen am Projekt beteiligten Personen verstanden und umgesetzt werden.

Aufgabenlimit:
Es muss eine Begrenzung der zur Verfügung stehenden Karten erfolgen, eine Abstimmung auf die Anzahl der Aufgaben ist erforderlich.

Workflow:
Ein stetiger Workflow muss sichergestellt werden. Es müssen also immer Aufgaben in Bearbeitung sein.

Kontinuierlicher Verbesserungsprozess:
Zur Verbesserung einer effizienten Arbeitsweise müssen Kanban-Prozesse regelmäßig analysiert werden.

Leadership:
Alle am Projekt beteiligten Mitarbeiter sind auf allen Ebenen für den Erhalt des Workflows und der aktiven Verbesserung von Arbeitsabläufen verantwortlich.

Modelle:
Ein besseres Verständnis für Prozesse sowie effizientere Lösungen lassen sich durch die Nutzung von Modellen erreichen.

Weitere Methoden des visuellal Managements

Neben den bereits genannten Methoden kommen zudem die folgenden Ansätze in Frage:

• Andon
• A3-Reports
• Ishikawa-Diagramm

Andon

Auch der Begriff „Andon“ stammt aus dem Japanischen und bedeutet so viel wie „(Papier-)Lampe“. Ursprung dieser Methode liegt in einem visuellen Signal, welches im Toyota-Produktionssystem in Form einer Signallampe an Maschinen zum Einsatz kam und auf Unregelmäßigkeiten und Unterbrechungen im Produktionsprozess hinweisen soll.

Im visuellen Management wurde daraus eine selbsterklärende Methode entwickelt, welche mit Farbe (grün, gelb, rot) und teils auch mit Tönen auf Probleme in der Produktion aufmerksam macht.

In diesem Zusammenhang erfolgt dann die Entwicklung von Andon-Cords und Andon-Boards:

Andon-Cords
Bei Andon-Cords handelt es sich um eine Art Reißleine (z. B. einen Knopf) zum Stoppen einer Maschine durch den bedienenden Mitarbeiter. Vergleichbar ist dies mit einem Not-Aus-Schalter an Ski-Liften. Beim ziehen dieser Leine wird ein Signal ausgelöst und ein Mitarbeiter eilt zur Unterstützung und Behebung des Problems herbei.

Andon-Boards
Ein Andon-Board ist ein beleuchtetes Display, welches Informationen zum Status eines Fehlers gibt. Es kann durch Menschenhand oder automatisch ausgelöst werden. Danach erscheint ein visuelles Signal, welches den Status vom Produktionssystem zeigt. Im Anschluss wird eine vordefinierte Prozesskette ausgelöst.

A3-Reports

Bei der A3-Methode handelt es sich um eine Dokumentenvorlage in Formularform. Eingesetzt wird sie zur Identifizierung und Lösungsfindung bei Problemstellungen im Qualitätsmanagement. Sie enthält Texte sowie Diagramme und andere grafische Darstellungen. Dadurch soll ein besseres Verständnis für Zusammenhänge ermöglicht werden.

Die an einem Projekt mitarbeitenden Personen lernen mit dieser Methode, Probleme selbst zu erkennen, sie zu analysieren und eine Lösung zu finden.

Dabei sorgt der A3-Report für Transparenz des Denkprozesses zur Problemlösung.

Der A3-Report liefert folgende Analyseschritte:

Hintergrund:
Formulierung des Problems sowie dessen Auswirkungen im Zusammenhang mit dem Erreichen des Unternehmensziels für alle im Prozess beteiligten Mitarbeiter zur Nachvollziehbarkeit des Problems sowie des Grundes für die angestrebte Problemlösung.

Aktuelle Situation:
Beschreibung des Ist-Zustands mit detaillierten Fakten (z. B. in Form von leicht verständlichen Grafikelementen) zur Darstellung des Problems (einschließlich Entstehungsort, Hürden, Beseitigung).

Zielzustand:
Als Ziel muss der Soll-Zustand klar definiert werden. Dadurch wird die Umsetzung verschiedenster Maßnahmen zur Behebung von Problemen erleichtert und es lassen sich effektive Lösungen herbeiführen.

Ursachenanalyse:
Mittels bestimmter Diagramme lassen sich die Ursachen eines Problems sowie der daraus resultierende Ist-Zustand aufzeigen. Es erfolgt eine übersichtliche Darstellung aller Zusammenhänge. So können alle Beteiligten diese auch verstehen und entsprechend wirksame Maßnahmen zur Behebung der Probleme ausarbeiten. Das Ziel der Ursachenanalyse ist es, direkte Einflussfaktoren auf das Problem zu ermitteln und die Kernursachen zu eliminieren.

Gegenmaßnahmen:
Es erfolgt die Angabe und Begründung von Maßnahmen, welche Problemursachen beseitigen und den Ist-Zustand langfristig verbessern sollen. Anhand der fünf W-Fragen soll eine übersichtliche und eindeutige Darstellung ermöglicht werden.

Erfolgswirkung:
In diesem Schritt erfolgt die Ermittlung des Erfolgs der verschiedenen Maßnahmen und deren Beitrag zur Erreichung des Ziels. Eine Quantifizierung anhand von Kennzahlen erweist sich als sinnvoll, mittels Vorher-Nachher-Vergleich wird die Veränderung verständlich dargestellt.

Standardisierung und Follow-up:
Im letzten Schritt erfolgt eine Evaluierung des Gesamtprozesses. Es werden Maßnahmen festgelegt, welche die erreichten Verbesserungen standardisieren und sicherstellen sowie weiter vorantreiben sollen. Anhand eines Wissensmanagements werden zudem Wege festgelegt, welche alle Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse auch auf andere Prozesse und Arbeitsweisen übertragbar machen.

Ishikawa-Diagramm

Das Ishikawa-Diagramm (Fischgräten-Diagramm, Ursache-Wirkungs-Diagramm) stellt den Zusammenhang zwischen Ursache und der darauf basierenden Wirkung (positiv oder negativ) grafisch dar. Das Diagramm verfolgt das Ziel, sämtliche Ursachen zu identifizieren und mögliche Abhängigkeiten untereinander darzustellen.

Entwickelt wurde die Ishikawa-Methode im Rahmen des Qualitätsmanagements, um Ursachen für Qualitätsmängel zu analysieren. Inzwischen lässt sich die Methode auf verschiedene Anwendungsfelder übertragen.

Das Diagramm wird in fünf aufeinander folgenden Schritten erstellt:

1. Zeichnen des Diagramms und Eintragen der Haupteinflussgrößen

2. Erarbeitung von primären und sekundären Ursachen

3. Überprüfung auf Vollständigkeit

4. Ursachenbewertung

5. Überprüfung auf Richtigkeit und Ableitung von Maßnahmen

Welche Vorteile bietet Visual Management?

Gegenüber Sprachsignalen (Schrift und Sprache) biete visuelle Signale in der Kommunikation mit Menschen die folgenden Vorteile:

• direkte Integration in das Design von betroffenen Objekten
• schnelle Erfassung wird möglich
• Signale können intuitiv verstanden werden
• keine Kenntnisse einer lokal gültigen Sprache erforderlich
• auch Analphabeten verstehen die Signale

Visuelles Management kann und sollte in jeder Firma eingesetzt werden, um Informationen einfach und transparent darzustellen. Denn der Satz: „Aus den Augen, aus dem Sinn.“ Liegt in der Natur des Menschen. Somit kann Visual Management dabei helfen die Übersicht über alle Aufgaben zu bewahren und somit deutlich effizienter und effektiver zu werden.

Grenzen des visuellen Managements

Trotz der Vorteile sind visuellen Signalen auch bestimmte Grenzen gesetzt:

• keine komplexen Aussagen möglich
• Empfänger ignorieren mitunter zu viele visuelle Signale
• visuelle Signale müssen Standards entsprechen, damit jeder sie versteht

Fazit zum Visual Management

Mit visuellem Management lässt sich die Kommunikation zwischen allen Beteiligten in einem Projekt optimal unterstützen. Es eignet sich für einen schnellen Überblick zu allen (auch zeitkritischen) Abläufen und hilft dabei, auf einfache Weise Informationen auszutauschen.

Visuelles Management lässt sich dabei auf verschiedenste Arbeitsbereiche übertragen. Eine gute Visualisierung trägt dazu bei, dass mögliche Probleme und Fehler ohne Verzögerung erkannt und direkt behoben werden.

Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Einführung von Visual Management sowie der Anwendung von Lean Methoden zur Optimierung Ihrer Prozesse.

Kontakt aufnehmen