Lean. Digital. IPD

Lean. Digital. IPD.

 

PLACE Strategy reaches a new milestone!

This week our new project started with a bang! In the project development we use from service phase 0 Lean digital in an IPD project setup for a property developer. This should increase the efficiency of the planning phase and accelerate the execution through the seamless project structure.

In this blog we would like to report on methods, progress and experiences with this innovative form of processing and provide deep insights over the next few months throughout the entire project.

Optimize construction processes? - Challenge accepted

What certainly sounds like excessive advertising texts after the first reading has a deeper meaning. We have a drastic efficiency problem around construction. What is even worse is that often we simply don't care. We see this particularly clearly when we look back into the past, more precisely into the year 1950, a supposedly great leap backwards since not only computer technology, telecommunications and robotics have changed our lives enormously. Working methods in construction, on the other hand, have hardly changed noticeably, or can you see a difference?

Sure, I admit the lineup is exaggerated. I am convinced that in 1950, people were already complaining in exactly the same way about wrong or not thought-out planning, unclean execution or permanent changes. In my opinion, this does not indicate a purely technological problem, but rather a systematic one.

One that we could not or did not want to eliminate for the last 68 years?
Together with a property developer, we have investigated precisely this systematic problem and will eliminate it in the project that has now been launched. Of course, this does not work by simply imposing and applying new methods. Rather, it requires a long-term change in the way the project is handled.

We have deliberately chosen a time-critical project that is highly user-dependent (which has not yet been determined at this stage!) due to the business case we are aiming for, in order to address the full range of today's challenges in construction. The challenge is clear - how can construction projects be completed faster, cheaper, safer and more stress-free in the future, while fully satisfying the future (as yet unknown) buyer.

The project

Summer slump and heat wave, what could be better than discussing contracts. However, this week, the time had come to lay the groundwork collaborative project par excellence is laid.

The project is a district development by a property developer, divided into several sections. The development described in the following articles
Section 1 comprises an ensemble of buildings, which is intended to form a new living concept for fit and spry senior citizens in a rural alpine style. In addition to the development of this neighbourhood, this concept is also to be reproduced in a way that can be adapted to other locations.

At this point in time, only the idea of use and a first business case have been determined for section 1. In addition, the key trades for planning and execution have also already been determined. This is the ideal starting point for transferring as much know-how as possible to early planning. A rough time schedule is given in the business case, but this only refers to the transfer milestones of the respective buildings.

2 pillars of project management - Lean and IPD

The detailed process and the detailed schedule are completely worked out by the Last Planner System (LPS) at the appropriate level of detail. The workshops for training and implementation will take place in the next four weeks. In addition to methods such as the LPS, there will certainly also be cycle planning and control, provided it is suitable for repetitive elements. However, this will also be mapped in the LPS environment.

In order to make use of the location-independent application and use of the LPS and to avoid destroying the data, ideas and knowledge gained on a weekly basis - which is unfortunately so common with most analogue lean systems - we will fully digitalise the system in the project.

As shown above, our daily problems are systematic in nature and not just due to processes. Therefore the whole system of project management must be addressed. Our goal is an "Integrated Project Delivery" model, which regulates risks, opportunities and services with a contract at a fixed budget with the executing and planning trades and distributes them accordingly on all shoulders.

However, the focus is not on the contract as such, but on the desired cooperation and collaboration between all project participants and later also in the successful interaction with buyers and tenants. Unfortunately, these thoughts usually only begin as soon as a contract stipulates this.

Pillars of project management

Conventional supply and contract concepts in theory provide for separate areas of responsibility. In practice, this leads to chaos as soon as a transfer from one silo to another takes place. Traditionally managed projects suffer from this. Participant success and project success are only conditionally connected. It is made possible, almost forced, for individual project participants to gain their advantages at the expense of the overall project success.

Behavioural change through IPD

IPD, however, wants to achieve a change in behaviour by breaking down the areas of responsibility, calling for close cooperation between all key stakeholders and aligning the success of the participants with the success of the project. IPD strategically realigns the participant roles, underlying motivations and sequences of activities in a project to leverage the talents and skills of each participant to
at the most convenient time. Success is project-oriented within an integrated supply approach and is based on cooperation. The focus is on achieving common goals rather than meeting individual expectations. Success is measured by the degree to which common goals are achieved.

This naturally leads to increased demands on the preparation of the respective activities at an extremely early stage - namely now! Here we will make use of the entire range of lean tools, starting with the already mentioned Lean project management systems such as the Last PlannerĀ® System or cycle planning and control. However, these focus on the actual planning and construction processes and do not necessarily reflect the overall project progress, costs and budgets as well as the respective goals of the stakeholders.

Developing goals

The objectives are set over several and distributed over the construction period Workshops worked out. Experience shows that these will become more precise, shift or even change over time. For this purpose we use the "Design Thinking Approach". First of all, the exact project goals are worked out by the developer for the entire project and according to the individual key trades.

These targets will be incorporated into the final IPD contract and linked to the target budget accordingly. This target budget is calculated using the Target Value Design method. In contrast to traditional planning processes, where planning, budgeting and then adjustments / rescheduling are an iterative process, Target Value Design uses immediate feedback on budget, schedule and quality to directly and immediately influence development. It encourages the design of a detailed estimate, rather than estimation based on detailed planning.

To achieve this, information must be effectively communicated to all interested parties, feedback must be fed back and decisions must be made on an open and rational basis. If this is done correctly, traditional "value engineering" will disappear. In addition, by linking the decision-making process to the timetable in parallel, alternatives that require information can progress along parallel paths until the appropriate "last responsible moment". In this way the best possible added value is to be generated for the end customer.

Kick-off, what's next? - Start of planning and Lean implementation!

But enough with the grey theory. Design and implementation I will show over the next weeks and report from the project everyday life. So the question is, what's up?

In the project the planning now begins. From the first ideas, concrete goals have to be developed, which are then implemented in the planning. The goals also serve as a basis for the concretization of the IPD contract. Furthermore, all key trades have to be trained with Lean in order to achieve these goals.

So an exciting phase is about to begin!

en_USEnglish
This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.

Lean. Digital. IPD.

PLACE Strategy erreicht einen neuen Meilenstein!

Diese Woche startete unser neues Projekt mit einem Paukenschlag! In der Projektentwicklung setzen wir ab Leistungsphase 0 Lean digital in einem IPD Projektsetup für einen Bauträger um. Hierdurch soll die Effizienz der Planungsphase gesteigert und die Ausführung durch die nahtlose Projektstruktur beschleunigt werden.

In diesem Blog möchten wir in den nächsten Monaten während des gesamten Projekts über Methoden, Fortschritte und Erfahrungen zu dieser innovativen Abwicklungsform berichten und tiefe Einblicke gewähren.

Maximilian Weik
Maximilian WeikAutor

Bauprozesse optimieren? – Challenge accepted

Was nach dem ersten Mal lesen sicherlich nach überzogenen Werbetexten klingt, hat eine tiefere Bewandtnis. Wir haben ein drastisches Effizienzproblem rund ums Bauen. Noch viel schlimmer ist, dass es uns oftmals einfach egal ist. Besonders offensichtlich sehen wir dies bei einem Blick in die Vergangenheit, genauer ins Jahr 1950. Ein vermeintlich großer Sprung zurück, seitdem nicht nur Computertechnik, Telekommunikation und Robotik unser Leben enorm verändert haben. Arbeitsweisen auf dem Bau haben sich hingegen kaum merklich verändert, oder erkennen Sie einen Unterschied?

Armierungsarbeiten 1950

Armierungsarbeiten 2017

Selbst die Art wie wir mit Plänen auf der Baustelle arbeiten ist identisch.

Planbesprechung 1950

Planbesprechung 2017

Klar, ich gebe zu, die Gegenüberstellung ist überspitzt. Ich bin überzeugt, dass man sich 1950 schon genau so über falsche oder nicht durchdachte Planung, unsaubere Ausführungen oder permanente Änderungen beschwert hat. Dies weist in meinen Augen nicht auf ein rein technologisches Problem hin, sondern vielmehr auf ein systematisches.

Eines, welches wir die letzten 68 Jahre nicht beseitigen konnten oder wollten?
Zusammen mit einem Bauträger haben wir genau dieses systematische Problem untersucht und werden es im nun gestarteten Projekt eliminieren. Das funktioniert natürlich nicht über das reine überstülpen und anwenden neuer Methoden. Vielmehr erfordert es einen langfristig angelegten Wandel in der Art der Projektabwicklung.

Wir haben uns bewusst ein zeitkritisches und durch den angestrebten Business-Case stark nutzerabhängiges (welche zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt noch nicht feststehen!) Projekt entschieden, um die volle Breitseite heutiger Herausforderungen im Bau anzugehen. Die Challenge ist klar – wie können Bauprojekte zukünftig schneller, kostengünstiger, sicherer und stressfreier abgewickelt werden und das bei voller Zufriedenheit des späteren (noch unbekannten) Käufers.

Das Projekt

Sommerloch und Hitzewelle, was kann es da schöneres geben als Verträge zu diskutieren. Dennoch war es diese Woche soweit, die Basis für ein kollaboratives Projekt par excellence ist gelegt.

Bei dem Projekt handelt es sich um eine in mehrere Abschnitte zerlegte Quartiersentwicklung durch einen Bauträger. Der in den folgenden Beiträgen beschriebene
Abschnitt 1 umfasst ein Gebäudeensemble, welches ein neues Wohnkonzept für fitte und rüstige Senioren in ländlich alpin geprägtem Stil bilden soll. Dieses Konzept soll darüber hinaus, neben dieser Quartiersentwicklung, auch auf andere Standorte angepasst reproduzierbar werden.

Zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt steht für Abschnitt 1 lediglich die Nutzungsidee und ein erster Business-Case fest. Darüber hinaus stehen die Schlüsselgewerke für Planung und Ausführung ebenfalls schon fest. Die Ideale Ausgangssituation, um möglichst viel Know-how in die frühe Planung zu transferieren. Ein grober Terminplan ist über den Business-Case vorgegeben, dieser bezieht sich jedoch lediglich auf die Übergabemeilensteine der jeweiligen Gebäude.

2 Säulen der Projektabwicklung – Lean und IPD

Der detaillierte Prozess und die Detailterminplanung werden vollständig durch das Last Planner System (LPS) in der entsprechenden Detailstufe erarbeitet. Die Workshops zur Schulung und Implementierung finden in den kommenden vier Wochen statt. Neben Methoden wie dem LPS wird es sicherlich auch Taktplanung und -steuerung geben, sofern es sich für wiederholende Elemente eignet. Dies wird jedoch ebenfalls in der LPS Umgebung abgebildet werden.

Um die standortunabhängige Anwendung und Nutzung des LPS zu nutzen und um die gewonnenen Daten, Ideen und Erkenntnisse nicht wöchentlich zu vernichten – was bei den meisten analogen Lean System leider so üblich ist – werden wir das System im Projekt voll digitalisieren.

Wie oben aufgezeigt sind unsere täglichen Probleme systematischer Natur und nicht nur Prozessen geschuldet. Daher muss das gesamte System der Projektabwicklung angegangen werden. Unser Ziel ist ein „Integrated Project Delivery“-Modell, welches mit einem Vertrag Risiken, Chancen und Leistungen zu einem fixen Budget mit den ausführenden und planenden Gewerken regelt und entsprechend auf allen Schultern verteilt.

Der Fokus liegt dabei jedoch nicht auf dem Vertrag an sich, sondern auf der gewünschten Zusammenarbeit und Kollaboration zwischen allen Projektbeteiligten und später auch im gelungenen Zusammenspiel mit den Käufern und Mietern. Leider beginnen diese Gedanken meist erst, sobald ein Vertrag dies fixiert.

Herkömmliche Liefer- und Vertragskonzepte sehen in der Theorie getrennte Verantwortungsbereiche vor. In der Praxis führt dies zu Chaos, sobald eine Übergabe von einem Silo in ein anderes erfolgt. Traditionell geleitete Projekte leiden darunter. Teilnehmererfolg und Projekterfolg hängen dabei nur bedingt zusammen. Es wird ermöglicht, fast schon erzwungen, dass einzelne Projektbeteiligte auf Kosten des gesamten Projekterfolgs Ihre Vorteile ziehen.

Verhaltenswandel durch IPD

IPD möchte jedoch einen Verhaltenswandel erreichen, indem die Verantwortungsbereiche zerlegt, eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen allen wichtigen Beteiligten gefordert und der Erfolg der Teilnehmer auf den Erfolg des Projekts abstimmt werden. IPD richtet die Teilnehmerrollen, zugrunde liegende Motivationen und Abfolgen von Aktivitäten in einem Projekt strategisch neu aus, um die Talente und Fähigkeiten eines jeden Teilnehmers zum
günstigsten Zeitpunkt abzurufen. Der Erfolg ist projektorientiert im Rahmen eines integrierten Lieferansatzes und beruht auf Zusammenarbeit. Der Fokus liegt darauf, gemeinsame Ziele zu erreichen, anstatt individuelle Erwartungen zu erfüllen. Erfolg wird an dem Grad gemessen, zu dem gemeinsame Ziele erreicht werden.

Dies führt natürlich zu gesteigerten Anforderungen an die Vorbereitung der jeweiligen Tätigkeiten zu einem extrem frühen Zeitpunkt – nämlich jetzt! Hierbei werden wir auf die ganze Lean-Tool-Palette zurückgreifen, beginnend bei den schon erwähnten Lean Projektabwicklungssystemen wie dem Last Planner® System  oder der Taktplanung und steuerung. Diese fokussieren die tatsächlichen Planungs- und Bauprozesse spiegeln jedoch nicht ohne weiteres den Gesamtprojektfortschritt, Kosten und Budgets sowie die jeweiligen Ziele der Stakeholder dar.

Ziele erarbeiten

Die Zielsetzungen werden über mehrere und über die Bauzeit verteilte Workshops erarbeitet. Diese werden sich über die Zeit erfahrungsgemäß präzisieren, verschieben oder gar ändern. Hierzu verwenden wir den „Design Thinking Ansatz“. Als erstes werden hierdurch die genauen Projektziele seitens Bauträger für das Gesamtprojekt und entsprechend der einzelnen Schlüsselgewerke ausgearbeitet.

Diese Ziele werden in den finalen IPD-Vertrag einfließen und entsprechend an das Zielbudget gekoppelt. Dieses Zielbudget berechnet sich über die Methode Target Value Design. Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Planungsprozessen, bei denen Planung, Budgetierung und dann Anpassungen / Umplanungen ein iterativer Prozess sind, verwendet Target Value Design unmittelbare Rückmeldung über Budget, Zeitplan und Qualität, um die Entwicklung direkt und unmittelbar zu beeinflussen. Es fördert das Entwerfen einer detaillierten Schätzung, anstatt anhand einer detaillierten Planung zu schätzen.

Um dies zu erreichen, müssen Informationen effektiv an alle interessierten Parteien kommuniziert, Feedback zurückgespielt und Entscheidungen auf einer offenen und rationalen Basis getroffen werden. Wenn dies richtig gemacht wird, verschwindet das herkömmliche “Value-Engineering”. Darüber hinaus können Alternativen, die Informationen benötigen, durch parallele Verknüpfung des Entscheidungsprozesses mit dem Zeitplan auf parallelen Pfaden bis zum geeigneten “letzten verantwortlichen Moment” fortschreiten. So soll für den Endkunden der bestmögliche Mehrwert erzeugt werden.

Kick-off, what’s next? – Start der Planung und Lean Implementierung!

Aber nun genug der grauen Theorie. Gestaltung und Umsetzung werde ich über die nächsten Wochen zeigen und aus dem Projektalltag berichten. Daher stellt sich die Frage, was steht an?

Im Projekt beginnt nun die Planung. Aus ersten Ideen gilt es konkrete Ziele zu erarbeiten, die planerisch umgesetzt werden. Die Ziele fungieren auch als Grundlage für die Konkretisierung des IPD-Vertragswerks. Weiter gilt es sämtliche Schlüsselgewerke mit Lean zu schulen, um diese Ziele zu erreichen.

Es steht also eine spannende Phase an!

Sie wollen Lean auch in Ihrem Projekt implementieren?

Implementierung in 6 Wochen

Sie wollen Lean auch in Ihrem Projekt implementieren?

Implementierung in 6 Wochen